Meet The Team - Christo Wessels Els

Christo Wessels Els

“I love to interact with people and resolve their IT related issues. I am always happy to help.”

Where did you grow up? Where do you live now?
“I was born Port Elizabeth (now known as Gqeberha) in the Eastern Cape in South Africa, but grew up in Pretoria in Gauteng. However, at the end of 2001, I moved back to Port Elizabeth and still currently reside here. Port Elizabeth is a beautiful town with over 40km of unspoiled coastline and beaches.”

Why did you first become interested in technology?
“I was 7 years old when my dad introduced me to computers by purchasing a Commodore 64. Ever since then I had the love for technology and computers.”

What do you enjoy most about technology today?
“I`m a gadget guy. I love how much technology has changed and how it has made our lives easier today. I really love all the “smart” features we have today.”

What’s your favorite hobby(ies) or your favorite thing to do off-hours?
“I really enjoy spending time with family and going camping and fishing and tend to watch sport over the weekends.”

Are you married and do you have kids or pets?
“Yes, I am married, have one son, three dogs, two adorable bunnies and a bird. Needless to say, our house is very busy!”

What was your favorite job?
“Why, my current job at AMT is my favorite, but if I had to choose something of my past it would be my job at a local armed response security company. I was an IT technician, and this was a huge steppingstone in my career as it introduced me to servers, telephone systems and other IT related products.”

What’s the one thing you can’t live without?
“Besides my family, I would say my cellphone as this keeps me connected with the rest of the world and has so many capabilities.”

What is your favorite aspect of your job here, at AMT?
“As a Support Engineer, I have a variety of different tasks, starting from loading users on Active Directory / Microsoft 365, installing printers, troubleshooting hardware and software related issues, etc. I love to interact with people and resolve their IT related issues.”

Tell us something about yourself that most people don’t know about you.
“When I was younger, I was big into music and used to DJ on the weekends.  Right now, I prefer being with my family and watching Formula 1 racing and rugby games.”